Posted by: Mary | March 16, 2010

Leaving the past behind

Yesterday I was thinking about a few of the posts I’ve written since I started this blog. A theme occurred to me: Living in the past. I wrote about how I never imagined I’d do certain yoga poses or do this or that or the other. Well, I have and now I think it’s time to move on and leave the past behind.

Why is this relevant to my yoga journey? Well, through yoga I’ve learned I am capable of anything if I believe in myself and trust in the universe. Maybe that sounds flaky and maybe it is flaky, but it’s the truth. I think there is a quote: “What the mind can conceive and believe it can achieve.” My karate sensei used to say that. And, it’s true. If you believe that you can’t do anything, you are right and if you believe you can do anything, you’re right. I choose to believe the latter.

I didn’t get where I am today without some challenges and I continue to have challenges. What I’ve learned: My career does not define me; What others think of me does not define me; I have the ability to change; I am changed; What I think of myself and know to be true is all that matters.

Too many of us go through our lives trying to please everybody around us, family, friends, significant others, our neighbors. I know I did (past).  We expect that what we own, who we know or what our job title is gives our life meaning. In reality those things matter little. Now, I am trying to live my dreams and they are different today because I am different.

Without yoga maybe I’d have figured this out, maybe not. Yoga has become a really important part of my life because I see how vastly different I am now and that is due to my desire to change and my yoga practice helping me figure that out.  My goals are different now and what matters has changed. What is important now is that I love me just the way I am, that I wholeheartedly love my family regardless of their quirks and wackiness and that I love my friends for who they are and their ability to love me for who I am.

Now, I take each day and try to live it with joy and real curiosity. I am a new person, I can never go back to the way things were. Doors have been opened, the world has shifted and what was and what is will never be the same.

Leave a Reply

Categories

